





PROCLAMATION



WHEREAS, In May 1976, the Saltillo Volunteer Fire Department was organized by four members to include Saltillo ISD Superintendent Kerry Gorman who served as president, Wendele Skeen who served as the department's first fire chief along with Bob Goswick and Timmy White who served as the community's volunteer fire fighters; and

WHEREAS, The department was named East Hopkins Volunteer Fire Department and later became known as the Saltillo Volunteer Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, The first known fire apparatus with the department was a 1976 Ford Truck which was housed at the Saltillo School; and

WHEREAS, Prior to the 1990 community-involved construction of the 1,600 square foot, two bay building, the property for the site of the fire station was donated by Howard Colling, Matt Gibbs and Molly White; and

WHEREAS, In January 2006, the Willyard Family provided a bay area at the end of their mechanic shop to form a substation; and

WHEREAS, Other fire chiefs who have served the community of Saltillo in the past consist of former HCFD Firefighters Bob Kerney and Mike Matthews as well as John Beadle; and

WHEREAS, At present, the Saltillo Volunteer Fire Department has twelve members supporting three fire apparatuses – President Tommy Winstead, Chief John Brian Beadle, Assistant Chief Mike Matthews, Secretary/Treasurer Dutch Vallaster in addition to Firefighters Robert Sexton, Earl Gregory, Trey Thompson and Bruce Thompson; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens to applaud the outstanding efforts of the Saltillo Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection for each citizen and their property and, offer heartfelt appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court at the regularly scheduled meeting on the 29th day of July, 2019.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker, Commissioner, Pct.

Wade Bartley, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Joe Price, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief